Harness racing awards set for June 23, equine finalists revealed

Outstanding on-track performances and lifetimes of off-track dedication will be celebrated on Sunday June 23, when the Victorian Harness Racing Awards are at Melton Entertainment Park.

Victorian Harness Racing Awards
Victorian Harness Racing Awards Picture: HRV

Hosted by TrotsVision presenter Ryan Phelan, the night promises exceptional dining, live entertainment and the chance to savior our much-loved sport, including the presentation of the Gordon Rothacker Medal and Victorian Horse of the Year.

HRV CEO Matt Isaacs said the night would again be an important celebration of the best of harness racing.

"It's always vital that we salute not only the champions of racing but those who have given so much to this great sport for so long," Isaacs said.

"The Gordon Rothacker Medal, the Pearl Kelly Award, the Caduceus Living Legend and the Lang Distinguished Services Award are the pre-eminent recognition in our sport and with honour rolls second to none.

"To be able to welcome in the newest inductees as well as celebrate those horses and their connections who were without peer will be a night not to be missed, and it's great to be back at the state's home of harness racing – Melton – to usher in the winners."

The occasion will be held on a race-free day to enable all connections, participants and officials to join in the celebration.

Invitations for award nominees and ticket sales will be made available in late April, ensuring a memorable gathering of the brightest stars and devoted supporters of harness racing.

Here are the nominees for the Victorian Horse of the Year categories are:


Two-year-old colt/gelding: Stormryder, Timmy Rictor, War Dan Buddy

Two-year-old filly: Draw A Dream, Eye Believe, Very Pretty

Three-year-old colt/gelding: Perfect Class, The Lost Storm, Petracca

Three-year-old filly: Major Delight, Sahara Breeze, Sweet Bella

Four-year-old entire/gelding: Captain Ravishing, Catch A Wave, Wheres The Gold

Four-year-old mare: Amore Vita, Encipher, Rakero Rebel

Aged entire/gelding: Act Now, Better Eclipse, Honolua Bay

Aged mare: Ladies In Red, Sew What, Tough Tilly


Two-year-old colt/gelding: Kyvalley Maven, Thunda Struck, Val Thorens

Two-year-old filly: Nordic Reign, No Telling Heather, Violet Stanford

Three-year-old colt/gelding: Prince Of Rock, Gotfeelingsyouknow, The Locomotive

Three-year-old filly: Shesawish, Rockinwithattitude, Shes Ruby Roo

Four-year-old entire/gelding: Arcee Phoenix, Plymouth Chubb, Aroha Koe

Four-year-old mare: Revelstoke, Aldebaran Keepa, Gardena Ronda

Aged entire/gelding: Just Believe, Mufasa Metro, Aldebaran Zeus

Aged trotting mare: Im Ready Jet, Queen Elida, Sleepee

The following awards will be also presented on the night:

Gordon Rothacker Medal

Victorian Horse of the Year

Caduceus Living Legend

Lang Distinguished Services Awards

Pearl Kelly Award

Victorian Trainer of The Year

Taylors Metropolitan Trainer of The Year

Garrards Victorian Driver of The Year

Metropolitan Driver of the Year

Victorian Concession / Young Driver of the Year

Aldebaran Park Victorian Trotting Broodmare of the Year

Benstud Standardbreds Victorian Pacing Broodmare of the Year

Woodlands Stud Victorian Breeder of the Year

Frank Ryan Club Employee of The Year Award

Paul James Volunteer of The Year Award

Club of The Year Award